The joy of design

April 12, 2008

When I first came to Second Life, I had no idea what I would do. Frankly, I had no idea what could be done. At my first rezzing, I looked around at the others around me (it was a busy day) and saw pretty much a bunch of avatars who looked just like mine.
It was not until I began exploring that I realized the default avatar options were only the beginning of the possibilities. The first prim hair I saw elicited from me: “Where can I get some?”
It was at this point that I really wanted to learn all I could about content creation in Second Life. I have a history of being able to learn anything I wanted to learn. The sticky point is that I have to want to learn it. One of the first things I learned was that all aspects of creation in Second Life are important. Building (constructing, sculpting and texturing), scripting, animation creation, sound file creation… it’s all integral to the virtual world around your avatar. I feel very small when I think “Nearly everything in-world here has been created by the residents.”
I discovered early that my preference was for medium scale object creation. Making buildings or other large objects didn’t really appeal to me. A penchant for mid-sized objects, making textures, scripting and the avatar’s interaction with the virtual world led me to furniture building. It has been my remarkable fortune to have made a friend who not only makes animations, but is also a very nice person with a sharp and creative mind who has already taught me so much.

Leave a Reply

